Google Photos, the times for deleting images from the trash have changed

Written by Jason Miller

Google Photos is one of the main Google applications and is pre-installed on all Android smartphones. Even though the company has long since eliminated unlimited cloud storage, the app continues to be a point of reference for many users.

As reported by Android Authority, the application is preparing to register an important innovation with the reduction of automatic deletion time from the deleted photos from the trash.

This is a further novelty for the application which recently registered theintegration of the Gemini Spark AI agentfor users with AI Pro and AI Ultra plans. Furthermore, the possibility has been available for some time edit images with AI.

What will change

When you delete a photo from the application, it ends up in the trash and can be easily recovered, avoiding having to deal with the risk of accidental deletion.

Currently, the trash has a self-delete function of the contents he shoots after 60 days from the cancellation made by the user.

Going forward, Google plans to reduce this period of timetaking it to 30 daysthe. Essentially, users will have one month to restore the content before permanent deletion.

This news concerns photos backed up on Google Photos and which were then deleted from the device. Photos stored locally, however, already have a limit set at 30 days.

Google is alerting users to these changes via an in-app notification. The new system with half the timeframe should be in the distribution phase.

Jason Miller

I'm Jason Miller, and I've been passionate about technology and storytelling for over a decade. As a lead writer at Herald Editorials, I strive to bring clarity and creativity to complex tech topics. When I'm not writing, you'll find me exploring the latest gadgets or hiking in the great outdoors.