THE groups Of Whatsapp are about to receive a new, highly anticipated updatewhich is currently only available in rollout for some beta testers selected. Simply put, new members of a group will be able to access the chat historyor to read the messages written before being inserted. This will allow you to immediately get to the heart of the matter conversation without the need to bombard others with requests to understand something (and thus interrupt the flow). How many times has it happened to be added to a new group and have absolutely no idea what is being discussed?
Access to group history is a highly requested feature already present in others App (as Telegram); Whatsapp required a long development period due to issues of IT security. The cryptographic keys for new members, in fact, they must be reworked so that they can read previous messages. As indicated, currently the new one function is still in progress experimentation at selected users, so it will take a few months before it becomes available to everyone.
However, access to messages written in a group before your inclusion will not be possible automatic functionbut managed by administrators with various options. Before being invited into a group, moreover, it is possible that other users are talking about us and perhaps we would like to keep certain observations private, therefore the managers they will be able to select which and how many history messages will become visible to new members. You can go up to 100 messages relating to the last two weeks, those which combine the so-called “recent messages” in the app. In the image shared by the developers, the history messages that can be shared are in increments of 25, 50, 75 and indeed 100. The shared messages are highlighted for new users and all group members receive one notification which informs of the sharing. Before giving access to these messages, the group administrator will have to give a manual confirmation, in order to avoid unpleasant involuntary sharing.
Voicemail 2.0 arrives on WhatsApp: what it is and how to use it

“When the history sharing option is activated, users also receive a confirmation message the first three times they attempt to share messages, providing further protection against accidental sharing,” we read on the wabetainfo.com website, where WhatsApp updates still in beta are listed. “After the third activation, the confirmation message is no longer displayed, as it is assumed that users are familiar with the procedure. However, the option remains optional and disabled by default, to ensure that users maintain full control over the privacy of their group and decide on a case-by-case basis whether or not to share recent messages,” the Meta developers commented.
At the moment this innovation is accessible to those who participate in the program beta testing with the latest updated versions of Android (2.26.1.28) e iOS (26.2.10.73), the operating system of Apple devices. It is possible that the function will arrive first for Android and then for iOS, as has previously happened for other Whatsapp updates. “This feature is available to some beta testers and will be extended to other users in the coming weeks,” we read on the developer site. In May last year the groups were updated with voice chat while in September link sharing was activated.

